> > The Saint Lawrence figures among finalists for Cruise Destination of the Year!

September 22, 2009

The Saint Lawrence figures among finalists for Cruise Destination of the Year!

Rimouski, 22 September 2009 - Representatives of the nine international cruise ports of call along the Saint Lawrence and their government partners received international recognition and honours at Seatrade Europe which was held from 15-17 September in Hamburg, Germany.

Cruise the Saint Lawrence, which has been commissioned to promote Québec's ports of call in the international marketplace, was chosen as one of three finalists in the Cruise Destination of the Year category for the quality of the group's marketing strategy and the magnitude of investments-some C$156 million-earmarked to promote the Saint Lawrence ports of call and support the group's sustainable development program.   

The Seatrade Insider Cruise Awards gala provides an opportunity for organizers to showcase and reward the efforts of cruise industry stakeholders.


The members of the judging panel, which comprised 14 cruise industry specialists from Europe and the Americas, selected three finalists from among the many contenders. The grand prize category winner was Cruise Baltic which groups together 10 countries under a common banner. Seeking to underscore the excellent work carried out during the past year by Cruise the Saint Lawrence Association (CSLA), organizers presented Priscilla Nemey, President of CSLA, with an official plaque during a ceremony which took place at Hamburg's Schmidt Tivoli Theatre.

As a result of this honour, Cruise the Saint Lawrence enjoyed significant exposure within industry circles as well as with trade media specialists.

This year was the first time that Cruise the Saint Lawrence Association had participated in the European event.


René Trépanier
Executive Director
418 725-0135

Judging Panel members included as follows:

Terry Dale, President and Chief Executive Officer, Cruise Lines International Association Inc. (CLIA)
Brett Jardine, General Manager, International Cruise Council Australasia (ICCA)
William Gibbons, Marketing Director, European Cruise Council (ECC) and Director, Passenger Shipping Association (PSA)
Monica Bengtsson, Chairman, Marketing Committee, Cruise Europe
Jose Campos, Secretary General, MedCruise
Jan-Erik Andersen, Consultant, Horten Maritime, Miami
Brad Anderson, Co-president, America's Vacation Centre, California
Andrew Coggins, Consultant/cruise industry analyst, School of Hotel and Tourism Management, Chinese University of Hong Kong
Antonius Heuer, President, Fidelio Cruises, Hamburg and Fort Lauderdale
Anne Kalosh, US Editor, Seatrade Cruise Review and Seatrade Insider
Roderik McLeod, Co-founding Partner, McLeod.Applebaum & Partners Inc., Florida
Tony Peisley, Director, A. R. Peisley (Cruise Analysts), UK
Rebecca Rogers, Manager, Business Practices and Travel Industry Adviser, Conservation International, Virginia
Tim Moore, Tours Manager, Fred Olsen Cruise Lines

The Saint Lawrence figures among finalists for Cruise Destination of the Year! [83 Kb]

Subscribe Register to receive the CSLA newsletter.
© Cruise the Saint Lawrence Association 2012 - 2019 Québec Original Canada Economic Development